DHL
3.7 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

DHL Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
Singapore182 reviews

Ratings by category

3.5Work-Life Balance

Search reviews

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 182 reviews matching the searchSee all 22,728 reviews

StressFUL

Indeed Featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
All the full-time workers ask you to do the work and they barely help they will boss you around and get angry when you do not know how to do certain things but the work assigned is fun to do
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

November 7, 2022
Hello,Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It's a pity that your rating isn't entirely positive. Our goal is for you to feel respected and valued by us, and for us to be the employer of choice for you in good and bad times.While stress at work is common, finding a low-stress job is hard (if not impossible). A more realistic approach is to adopt effective coping strategies to reduce stress at your current job. An effective manager cultivates an open dialogue that invites discussion with employees about a particular task, project or team decision. If the manager takes the time to listen to employees, new insights or ideas can come to the table that you may not have thought of before. We are sorry that we have not given you, as an employer, the appreciation you deserve.We wish you much success and satisfaction in your next job. But most of all, thank you for all your efforts and patience. Best wishes to SingaporeYour DHL Team

Nice workplace environment

Nice place, very convenient as near the mrt, colleagues are friendly and helpful, supervisors and bosses are really understanding and listens to your feedback, encouraging you to always do better
Was this review helpful?

Most enjoyable part

After learn every thing they more respect and friendly. Thank you for DHL and staff also. Most happy thing is the salary more afford more salary. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful?

Productive and encouraging

Great work space in your own lane good pay there is no time limit work when your done for the day go straight home don’t have to return and consistent work

Pros

Good pay on your own time

Cons

Not so much
Was this review helpful?

Good workplace

Good salary good environment nice place to more get many bonus and benefit good colleague and nice and good bos. Very recommended working here i like to work at dhl back
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

November 4, 2022
Hello,You make us proud with a 5-star rating! Thank you very much for being a part of our DHL family and for your efforts to make our company the world leader in logistics during your time with us. It is an honor to read your comments and to have worked with such a wonderful group of people. When managers communicate thoughtfully with team members rather than overseeing them from a distance, team members feel appreciated and valued. That feeling typically results in higher job satisfaction and increased loyalty. Every individual doesn’t have to possess superlative technical and social skills, but the team overall needs a healthy dose of both. When working at a fast pace, you are often open to exciting opportunities and the chance to excel quickly. We are grateful that you had this experience and shared it with us.Best wishes for all future professional and personal endeavors; we hope your time with us was beneficial.A warm greeting to Tampines!Your DHL Team

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Combative and deceiving

DHL is a company you think you can trust but in the end there is nepotism and no work/life balance. Some colleagues will get more pay then you will; and it's not even based on skills or qualifications. As a member of the lgbtq+ I also went through some very embarrassing situations. I felt really gross and crummy working there.

Pros

They pay you on time.

Cons

Mostly contract jobs, nepotism, favoritism, very anti-lgbtq
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

November 7, 2022
Hello,Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback.Favoritism, combativeness, and deception can cause unfair treatment of employees and feelings of awkwardness. That includes LGBTQ+ employees, as we will not tolerate discrimination of any kind, so we regret that our policies were unable to resolve the issue during your time with us. LGBTQ+ employees should be respected and valued.We sincerely apologize for the unfair treatment you have received, and we will strive to do better in the future by ensuring that all employees have an escalation route if something is not right.We wish you all the best in the future and thank you for your efforts.Your DHL Team

best work place

best work place and great benefits, you can enjoy all benefits from company and if you are workaholic will be fun working, depends on your role but generally working long hrs.

Pros

best benefits

Cons

zero work & life balance
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

August 26, 2022
Hello,Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review here on Indeed - we sincerely appreciate it.It is nice to see that your overall outlook on the company is positive and that you would recommend us as an employer. We are working hard to be an Employer of Choice and reviews like yours fuel our motivation to continue down this path.We are sorry to hear that your experience of the work-life balance was somewhat negative. Here at DHL we are fully aware how instrumental a good work-life balance is for employee satisfaction and we are continuously finding ways to improve upon that. Senior leaders in roles similar to yours are key to highlight the priorities and manage the team's workload, to ensure that we keep a proper balance in everybody's plate.We wish you all the best in your future endeavors, greetings to Singapore,Your DHL Team

Good bosses and nice colleagues

Nice place to gain experience.. Good bosses. Nice colleagues.. .Overall it is a good place to work..I learnt problem solving and stress management skills here . Work from home is available .. that makes it even more attractive. .

Pros

Nice environment

Cons

Long hours. . Shift based job
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

August 9, 2022
Dear colleague,Wow, what a super rating with the title: "Good bosses and nice colleagues!". You have given us top ratings in almost all areas, which of course makes us very happy because, as a top employer, we attach great importance to all these aspects and hope that we can offer our employees all of these. We work continuously to offer our employees good working conditions. In our opinion, this is an important form of appreciation. We are pleased that you have received it so positively and have been able to use it to your advantage..Thank you for your ongoing efforts and dedication to us.A warm greeting to Raffles Place! Your DHL team

Weird management

A lot of useless reporting that needs to be done. A lot of conflicting messages that you need to make certain number of customer calls and visits but yet management sends tons of meeting invites in a week. Furthermore, you're expected to drink with the bosses.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

July 25, 2022
Dear colleague, Thanks for getting in touch and sharing your thoughts as a Global Account Manager in Singapore with us.We expect our managers to serve as role models for employees across the group, not only motivating them but also demonstrating how their work helps the company achieve its goals.Collecting a lot of data can be useless and a waste of money, time, and resources if the data is not analyzed for progressive purposes. Only a few of these reports might capture the business leader’s attention. With regard to the reporting, it is somewhat difficult for us to judge from a distance what has not gone smoothly here and how we were able to get information at short notice.We regret that you had a negative experience with our company's management. Feel free to contact your human resources department and share your experiences or suggestions for improvement with them. Thank you for the terrific job you have done not only in the last days and weeks but throughout this crisis. Stay safe and stay healthy!Your DHL Team

Not fun at all, so stressed

When i worked in DHL, begin is okay but later on work culture kills your motivation, everyday stressed ,nobody help each other, everybody very individual

Pros

Can't remember, not really

Cons

Long hours needed, work culture, so much jealousy, stressed
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

July 21, 2022
Hello, Thanks very much for sharing your feedback with us through this review. We regret that you were not satisfied with your work in our company. At DHL, we strive to provide our employees with the best conditions and remuneration to feel valued. When working with others, it's important that you all find a way to enjoy working together. By creating a sense of camaraderie, you and your coworkers can improve your teamwork and collaboration skills.We sincerely apologize for the unfair treatment you received, and we will strive to do better in the future by ensuring that all employees have a route for escalation when something isn't right. We wish you all the best in the future and thank you for your efforts during your time with us.Best wishesYour DHL Team 

Its all about work and you will have no time for other stuff

DHL is one of the worse company that i had worked for. Their culture is one of ridicule. No guidance from immediate managers. We are expected to work outside our standard working hours as well as off days.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

July 20, 2022
Hello,Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback.We are sorry to hear that your experience at our site in Singapore has been far from satisfactory.By addressing unreasonable demands in the workplace, your manager establishes a pattern for a positive, healthy working relationship. A desirable work-life balance makes the individual feel less apprehensive about their ability to manage work and non-work commitments, which is not happening at your site during your time with us.We sincerely apologize for the unfair treatment you received, and we will strive to do better in the future by ensuring that all employees have a route for escalation when something isn't right. We wish you all the best in the future and thank you for your efforts.Best wishesYour DHL Team

Productive and fun workplace

Productive and fun workplace. High volume due to high transactions. Fun colleagues. Good work culture and understanding management. Pay is fine though.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

May 30, 2022
Hello,Your comment makes us feel happy! Your words confirm that we are on the right track. Having fun and becoming a little better every day is exactly what we want to achieve. We are pleased that your team is characterized by strong cohesion. A good working atmosphere and colleagues who treat each other fairly contribute to a harmonious working day. As a company, we would like to promote this in the best possible way.Thank you for giving the management such a positive assessment. Effective communication promotes collaboration. When team members can freely share ideas with colleagues and leadership, innovation blossoms.We wish you the best in your time with us and that you can take advantage of the opportunities that you have seen already.Best wishesYour DHL Team

Stressful

Very stressful and parcels are very heavy ( up to 30-50kg ) dont even bother to try to carry it even if you work out everyday. Full Time staff picks on part timers, expect first day new staff to properly arrange parcel nicely and fast within 10 minutes while they just scan and throw, they can sit down play phone and talk while the part timers suffer. Teach you one time expect you to do better than them. Work job scope as expected but staff, dont even bother, they will think they better than u and pick on u.

Pros

Aircon cafeteria

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

May 19, 2022
Hello,Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedbackWe are sorry to hear that your experience at our site in Changi has been far from satisfactory.Bullying at work is something that we will not tolerate under any circumstances, so we regret that our policies were unable to resolve the issue during your time with us. We sincerely apologize for the unfair treatment you received, and we will strive to do better in the future by ensuring that all employees have a route for escalation when something isn't right. We wish you all the best in the future and thank you for your efforts.Best wishesYour DHL Team 

good for freshman

Great place for fresh graduation and can earn money,learn alot from seniors and mentor, travel always to new places,gain working experience and manage time

Pros

Good work fresh graduates

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

May 9, 2022
Hello,We are very thankful for your 5-star rating! It is great to know that you consider DHL's work conditions and benefits to be a positive part of your experience as an employee. Thank you for giving the management such a positive assessment. We are constantly striving to improve our management organization, and we are pleased that our initiatives are well received by our employees.Thank you for your commitment and loyalty during your time with us.Best wishes,Your DHL Team

Awesome & fun workplace

Great place to work, Good experience for me I had been worked there with 13yrs extremely friendly nature colleagues & I have learned a lot from DHL about how to interact with the internal & external parties and how to deal with consequences how to resolve issues of customers and coordinate with operations/network & sales team through the mail and keep maintain communication between teammates. Good appraisals are fair and they give good salary hike and bonus every year.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

May 12, 2022
Hello, You make us glow with pride. We received your remarkable 5-star rating.We are delighted that you had such a memorable time with our big yellow family. Fantastic to read that you have experienced your time working with us as fun and creative.Reading your review gives us confirmation that we are doing our job of taking care of our employees and appreciating them very well.  It is great to hear that you enjoyed working with people. That is what we need. It’s great to read that you felt so good working for DHL. It was an honor to have you as a member of the DHL family. That is amazing.Greetings to Singapore!Your DHL Team

Ok

Job is fairly easy but people around you makes it stressful. Alot of people can give feedback about you even from other departments whereas their own department people is a mess.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

April 21, 2022
Hello,You make us proud with a 4-star rating! Thank you very much for being a part of our DHL family and for your efforts to make our company the world leader in logistics. Good to hear that the job is not too difficult. Happiness spreads and affects the energy of the entire team.We encourage managers to be aware of stress in the workplace and take steps to combat this before it gets out of control. In the meantime, we wish you all the best and thank you for your excellent work during your time with us.Warm greetings to Singapore!Your DHL Team

Good (Not Great) Place to Work

For DHL Express, it’s a good place to work. I wouldn’t say it’s great as they often like to brag about winning the Great Place to Work award. Compensation is competitive considering that it’s in logistics. Management is conservative (they are unwilling to do 100% work from home permanent policy and work from other countries) though they have heart. Culture is good as people are friendly and collaborative but fast paced as it’s in express logistics. A lot of opportunities for internal movement as DHL has other divisions and the regional and part of global office is based here.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

March 28, 2022
Hello,Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review on Indeed - we sincerely appreciate it!Also, we are grateful that you emphasized some major points of our company culture - employee engagement, development and growth, as well as your remark about the heart of our senior leadership. This is truly at the core of what we are and what we do. You are right! DHL is a great place for internal movement, growth and career development overall. Our learning environment and resources give you and your team all the tools for success. You can check the latest open vacancies in your area or globally using our career portal https://careers.dhl.com/global/en. All the best to you and your loved ones in Singapore,Your DHL Team

Fast paced & physically demanding

Very fast paced environment, Physically demanding & accuracy is a key must. Management is quick to blame but never quick to give you the support you need. Sometimes you can find yourself carrying the team if your co workers are on smoko. Depending on which agency you work on some people are friendly others a quite bossy & strict or report you on things they could have easily approached you about.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

March 21, 2022
Hello,Thank you for your evaluation. We welcome constructive criticism and strive to make the workplace as pleasant as possible for our employees.We expect our managers to serve as role models for employees across the Group, not only motivating them but also demonstrating how their work helps the company achieve its goals. The promotion of this management style is a recurring theme in all development initiatives. By signing our Code of Conduct, our managers also agree to live the values embodied in the Code and to guide their employees in doing so.Work-life balance is a key part of self-care when juggling the responsibilities of your workday, home life, and relationships with your family members and other loved onesWe're working on getting a little better every day. Thank you for your dedication and loyalty during the time you spent with us, all the best for your future projects.Warm Greetings!Your DHL Team

Colleagues are professional and the company has an open and respectful culture

Colleagues are professional and the company has an open and respectful culture. Also friendly and supportive.Real and sincere focus and effort on sustainability and environmental protection.

Pros

Good transport allowance and comprehensive flex benefit and insurance.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

December 23, 2021
Dear colleague,Thank you for this perfect rating. We are extremely happy that we have in our DHL family employees like you, who feel comfortable and satisfied with their current job.It is nice that you find joy in your job and feel valued in our company. The employee satisfaction of the DPDHL Group is measured by the annual employee survey. As an employer of choice it is essential for us to give all employees worldwide the opportunity once a year to give feedback on their working environment in a structured and anonymous manner, thus contributing to the continuous improvement of the direct working environment and the corporate culture. The employee survey enables us to enter into a targeted dialogue with our employee groups on site and to plan and implement improvement measures with them based on the feedback given, as well as to maintain a sustainable management of employee commitment at Group level. The resulting corporate success of the past year speaks for itself.We work continuously to offer our employees additional benefits. In our opinion, this is an important form of appreciation. We are pleased that you have received it so positively and have been able to use it to your advantage.Sustainability and environmental protection are at the top of our strategy, so it's great that you're helping us with that.With your support we will continue the good work. Thank you for being part of the big yellow family. Greetings to SingaporeYour DHL Team

Customer and Empoyee centric company

You will grow along side your colleague. The company is huge and you can be transferred to other countries if you wish so. I started after College in the company and I never changed job because the growth you have inside is enormous. The company is generous with trainings, team-building, and recognitions. Best company to work with.

Pros

Good salary even if you’re a starter

Cons

Fast-paced
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

February 9, 2022
Dear colleague,Great and constructive feedback! It’s fantastic that you took the time to share your insights with your potential future colleagues. This is exactly how we as employees can shape our future teams and participate so that DPDHL is also Employer of Choice in the future. Stay safe and all the best.Your DHL Team

Senior Management is normally expatriate

Heavy workload and lip services caring bosses who do not seem to care of subordinates. A lot of acting which makes one journey working there extremely tired having to live the daily work culture more like an actor. This explains their high turnover.

Pros

Occasion free gifts like cookies

Cons

Disinterest bosses
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

October 27, 2021
Hello,Thank you for your input. We are sorry to hear that your experience at our Singapore site was far from satisfactory. Indeed, being a Director is a demanding position and very important to our business operations. We expect from our leadership team to lead by example and take good care of their teams. The company strives to provide all the necessary tools to make this possible. We always try to do better, to continuously improve every part of our organization, including the managerial structure. For this reason we rely on our employees to come forward with constructive criticism and improvement feedback. Nevertheless, thank you for all your hard work and effort while working for us - we sincerely appreciate it.We wish you and your loved ones all the best,Your DHL Team

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DHL. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 22,728 reviews

Ratings by category

3.5 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3.5 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.3 out of 5 stars for Job Security/Advancement
3.2 out of 5 stars for Management
3.5 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare DHL with

  • Companies
  • DHL
  • Employee Reviews
Tell us how to improve this page
What would you add or change?